Crazy for Swayze night and dreams of Africa.

Hey peeps,
Last night I went to Em for "Crazy for Swayze" night with her and A. We watched Dirty Dancing (duh!) and Ghost.
It was actually the first time I watched that movie, but it was really good!
We all pigged out with chips, cheese rings and Hemmakväll candy (the best!) :)

Oh yeah, the other day I saw an ad in the paper (Metro), about "The worlds toughest job"...
If I hadn't already ordered my tickets to Kenya, I would so apply!
You get to go to Kenya, to a village called Kirwara (outside of Nairobi) and you get to work together with a woman called Elizabeth. You work all day together with her... from sunrise to sunset. You make like 1 Euro a day... Same as the women in the village!

You also blog about the experience while you're there and you get to make presentations about it when you get back.
It's only for three weeks, and I would LOVE to do it, but it's from Nov. 8th - Dec 4th....
Too bad they didn't post it sooner!
Who knows, I might take a matatu out there and say hi one day! :)

While searching the net for more experiences in Kenya I found the Kibera tours website!
I just wrote to them and said I wanted to have a tour when I get there.
Kibera is the biggest slum in East Africa, and I actually went through it last year when I went to Mombasa by train!
The tracks go through Kibera!

In the movie "The constant gardener" (one of my favorites) they also have some scenes from Kibera!
My friend Anna (annasandahl.blogg.se) went there last year and I've wanted to go since she told me about it!

Since they arrange these tours, I'm gonna go! :)
It's just 2500 KsH Per person and the money goes to the Kibera community!
Gosh, I can't believe it's just a little more than a month until I get to go!

The fundraiser is still going, so please! Don't forget to make your contribution at:
BANKGIRO 0663-7458
Have a great Saturday evening folks!
Nite nite!

Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0