KENYA 2010-11-23 [8:15]: Mitumba, Habesha, Shangilia!

2010-11-23 8:15pm

 

Hello hello!

Well, this day didn’t start all too well… I was going to update my blog and Facebook with pictures, but as I sat down by the computer at YMCA, it started deleting file by file on my USB memory stick… It said a virus had been detected. Just my luck. I googled it later, cause I have a folder on my USB memory called Recycler. I’ve tried to format the memory twice, and to just remove it, but it always comes back. I’m worried my computer has been infected too, but since I don’t have wireless internet here, I can’t download a virus scan. Frustrating to the max! I’m worried for my pictures!

I hate viruses!

 

At  breakfast I started talking to an American guy, Kurt. He was really cool. He was there with his girlfriend, and they are missionaries, and had spent quite a while in a Kikuyo village outside of Nairobi.

Another big group of American missionaries came to the hostel last night, so they eventually joined breakfast too! It was very nice!

 

After that I went to another cyber café and updated my blog. I think it’s this particular cyber café, where I got the virus. Damn them.

 

Oh well, then I went on my way to Hilton to take a bus to South C, and a slum area called Mitumba.
One of the girls at Shangilia lives there; she’s one of the older girls, and has already finished school, so she’s spending time at home.
But before she left she told me that they don’t have a door to their house. So I decided to go there and buy a door!

The girl wasn’t there today but I talked to her mom and the guy who is making the door.
The mom also told me that their roof is leaking… And since it wasn’t that expensive, I decided to pay for both the door and the roof. Came to a total of about 3000 ksh. Just figured that to me it’s like a meal out at a restaurant in Sweden… But to them it’s a big big deal!

I gave them a deposit and told them I would be back tomorrow. I just really really hope they’re done by then, and don’t go all Africa on me.

 

After that, I met up with Wesley in the city and we went to Habesha together and we had the Injera. I know I wrote Njeri or something before… But it’s in fact called Injera. Oh how I love Ethiopian food! I am going back AT LEAST one more time before I go home!

 

After a great dinner, Wesley and I went to Shangilia together. It was a really nice day at Shangilia.
I spent the last of the fundraiser money on 21 pair of shorts for the boys. And I wanted Mbeke to have a pair of shoes so I bought a pair for her. AWESOME Converse shoes for 300ksh(!). I even found another pair for 200 ksh(!), but they were too small. Same with the one for Mbeke. She’s a size 5. I wish I was too. I would have so many new awesome converse! :P

We didn’t leave Shangilia until 6pm-ish… And it turned out to be too late, cause the jam was a fact… And the driver took a detour and I ended up by Hilton… Again…

I had to get a cab back to YMCA, but I got a good deal with a cab driver, 250 Ksh :)
He seemed to be a really nice guy as well!  Got his number too, so I can call him if Simon isn’t available!

 

I sat down for a cup of tea at the terrace, and after a while a guy from Nigera sat down and started talking… But now I’m back at my room, updating the last bit of today!

 

The USB memory annoys me to the max though. I’m thinking of buying another one tomorrow, just so that I will be able to update my blog and maybe a few pictures. A 8GB was 2200 ksh though, so they’re really not cheap!

 

Tomorrow I will go back to Mitumba to make sure the roof and the door is fixed. Then I will go and pick up the DVDs for the kids; then probably head over to Kangemi, depending on what time it is.

 

Anywho!

I’m off to bed! Nighty night!

 


Mitumba


Mitumba: The "door", blanket. [Before]


Mitumba. Not much space...


Mitumba


South C, right next to Mitumba. Quite the difference, right?


The big kitty at Habesha. Adorable!!


Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0