KENYA 2010-11-27 [8:30pm]: Nairobi animal orphanage -Shangilia - Habesha

2010-11-27 8:30pm

 

Gooooooood evening people!
Okay… I think I have been talking too much good about the weather… Cause today I woke up at 5am,  and realized it was pouring down! Ouch…!

I talked to Deli, but eventually we decided to go for it and hope for the best! So I went to Shangilia at around 7:15am and arrived at 8-ish. It’s nice to take a matatu on Saturday mornings, and Sunday even… No jam!! Something so “small” really excites me!

 

That’s one thing; you know you’re in Nairobi when you feel excitement like that! Another thing is you know you’re in Nairobi when your buggers are black. Nice, ey? ;)

 

The car was ready when I got there. We just waited for the kids to finish their breakfast, and then we were on our way.

It was me, Delia (teacher), the driver (duh), Grace, Josephine, Anne, Melvin, Benjamin, Alan and one more girl who apparently took Cynthia’s place. I don’t know what happened there, and no one really wanted to tell me, so I dropped it.

 

It was quite chilly but the rain stayed away most of the time. It was dripping a little at one point, but thankfully it stopped again.

 

It was so much fun to go to the Animal orphanage with the kids. And the prices were funny. Kids under the age of 3 (Alan) went in for free… Kids up to 18(?) and students 50ksh and adults 100ksh, for Kenyans that is….Me? I had to cough up 1200 for myself to enter!  Oh well…!

 

It was really nice to just walk around and let the kids enjoy the animals. All of them behind bars, except for some monkeys… The animal orphanage is located in Nairobi National park, so there were wild monkeys running all over, even baboons!

 

Anyway, those monkeys… One almost grabbed my leg, and the kids had a blast cause of that, and I swear, the monkey was following me! The kids laughed so hard at it, and they were also playing around with the monkeys! :)

 

We saw all kinds of animals.. Unfortunately they changed the rules since I was there in 2006, cause I hoped the kids would have been able to go in to the cheetahs and pet them.. But they don’t do that anymore, and they said no kids are allowed in the cages anyway… Oh well. But I think the kids had a blast anyway! :)

 

After the animal orphanage we went to the city and we stopped at G&R to get food. The kids had one request: Chips and sausage. (Chips being French fries here).

They really enjoyed themselves! And it was nice to see. I’m glad I chose that place, cause they got BIG portions! I paid like 2200Ksh for the 10 of us (!) Including drinks!

 

When I had finished I went to Tuskys to buy some chocolate bars and lollipops, 9 of each, for only 450Ksh!

 

I had a great time with the kids today! Of course it was hard to leave Shangilia this morning, cause the ones who stayed behind were pretty jealous. But I have explained to them (a few times now) I can’t take all of them at the same time. Many of them seem to understand that though.

 

We got back to Shangilia just before 2pm and I decided to leave at 3pm, to meet up with Mary at ABC place.

We went to Identity at Westgate shopping mall, and I bought another pair of jeans (no, I have no idea where I’m gonna put them). And spent the store credit I got from the bozos at Village market.

The jeans look great! :)

 

After that we took a matatu to the city and changed to a bus and went to Nairobi hospital. I was going to pick up my x-ray pictures, but apparently the doctor didn’t leave a report… So they couldn’t give them to me. So now I have to go to the hospital again tomorrow, after all… I wanted it over with today! *sigh*

 

Then we decided, since we were in the area to continue up to Habesha and eat dinner there.

We got in to a matatu, and not long after we were stopped by the police and eventually all of us had to leave the matatu, and all passengers demanded their money back..

Apparently that vehicle had been stopped by the police earlier (another driver, though), but earlier the matatu just kept on going and didn’t actually stop when the police wanted them to… So they stopped it now, and the police really didn’t care that it was another driver.

 

Oh well, we just started walking to the next matatu station, which was very close and jumped on the next one.. And eventually came all the way to Habesha.

 

It was sooo nice, as always! The food is just so amazing! And it’s so cheap! And I haven’t even been sick from the food! ;)

 

Then we took a bus together back to the city and I got off at Kenyatta Avenue and was surprised how close it was to the hostel! Cause I haven’t thought about it before!

I mean, I try to avoid walking too much alone after the sun has set… But walking along a big street like that and on a Saturday, there were people everywhere! So I saved like 400 Ksh on a cab!

 

When I got back to the hostel I went to the terrace and had chai, maji na maziwa :)  But it was all empty so it got a bit boring… But I started writing here and well… I had a lot to tell today!

 

Tomorrow I’m going back to the damn hospital, and then off to Shangilia.. and I’ll leave there at around 4pm, to go back to YMCA and change… Then I’m meeting Mary, Wesley, Diana, Sam and Diana’s cousin for dinner at… HABESHA! :))  …When in Rome?

 

I have also decided to pay for one more night, even though I’m not gonna sleep here from Monday to Tuesday… But it’s easier for me to keep my bags here in the room, instead of having to be back here at 8:30pm to pick it up from the safety deposit.

…And I told Mary she could sleep here and have a nice YMCA breakfast… The money wouldn’t go to waste at least! ;)

 

Anyway, this is it for now, I’m gonna relax to a movie… Later!

 

Having a blast at Nairobi animal orphanage with the kids

 

Eating dinner at G&R: "Chips and sausage and soda",

and for dessert: lollipop and chocolate bar :)

 


Habesha!!! :))

 

 

 


Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0