KENYA 2010-11-24 7:30pm: Mitumba and then a late night visit to Nairobi hospital!

2010-11-24 7:30pm

 

Well hello!

Okay this day has been insanely good!
I got up at around 7am and went down for breakfast. Then I got ready and head to Nakumatt Lifestyle to buy a new flash disk. Only 2GB, cause they’re quite expensive here!

 

I decided to bring the computer today, so that if we went to a Java with Wireless I’d be able to install a virus protection program and search the computer. Many of them have this 30 days free trial, which is perfect!

 

Anyway! Then I headed over to Hilton to meet up with Mary! We went back to Mitumba to see how the door and roof had come along.

We got there at around 11am, only to find out that the girl’s mom had gone, and no one knew where or for how long she’d be gone… The roof however was fixed but the door wasn’t done yet.

Mary and I decided to go to Capital centre to get something to eat, and to fix my computer, so we went to Java and hung out there for a while.

I finally installed an Anti Virus, but since they don’t have internet here at YMCA I can’t really scan the computer, cause it seems the installation didn’t finish.

I can’t remember exactly what time we went back, but we found out that the mother of the girl had actually gone to pick up the girl at her sister’s; like an hour away from there!

So we waited for like 10 minutes more and then they came!! It was so good to see her again, she is just the sweetest kid ever!! She wrote me a letter today and when I read it later in the evening, I almost started to cry. It was so beautiful!

 

She was so happy that I got the door and roof done for her mom. The carpenter told me that I fixed the roof JUST in time, the piece they used before was so so bad!
It’s amazing… To them I have done so much, and I can understand that… But this was like I wrote yesterday, the same amount of money I would’ve paid for a 3 course meal at a restaurant…

I am so happy that I did this for her.
The money for Shangilia is already spent, so I used my own money to do this… And it feels great to have done it.

Mary and I sat down and talked to the girl for quite a while, and then we went to a “shed store”, and I got the mother some bread, milk and bananas to her 5 month old son and I got some sodas for the girl. She was going back to her sister today.

She actually came with me and Mary to the matatu and rode with us to a junction where she had to change. We went out with her to make sure she got on the right bus.

 

Then Mary and I took a tuk-tuk to the city.

We went to G&R and I had some Ugali na mboga and chapati and it was so so so good. I should go there every day. Cause one plate of ugali na mboga is 100 ksh!

 

After dinner we went to Java just to sit and relax and I had, of course my Malindi chai latté. Delicious!
We stayed there for an hour or so.. But it was so nice to just sit and relax.

 

Right now I’m back at YMCA, having a cup of tea. I even ordered it in Swahili: chai, maji na maziwa, tafadhali. :)

 

Tomorrow I’ll be going to my other friend Mary’s house to see her baby!! :)
Then I’ll be spending the afternoon at Shangilia.

 

Right now, I’m so exhausted, I’m gonna take a cold shower and then I’ll watch a movie…until I fall asleep!

Nighty night!

 

 

UPDATE:

SO! Now I've even experienced Nairobi hospital!

 

When I got to my room, I was going to take a shower and when I removed my pants I saw a major red rash on my right knee. The same knee that has been bothering me for a long time now.

...So, the pain I felt earlier was from the swelling. It was really uncomfortable to walk on.

 

I called my aunt, who is a nurse and she said that if the skin is warm where the rash is, it's most likely an infection. And the skin was burning hot and swollen so I decided to go to the hospital.

 

...I thought the Swedish health care was crap.
The nurse took my temperature and blood preasure... (which was 2000ksh), then I talked to a doctor, who wanted me to get an X-ray. That was another 1500ksh. And when the results came back she said the infection was too small to see anything on the X-ray...

So I asked her if she knows what it is. She said no. I asked if there's any way to find out. She said no.

And then she prescribed a bunch of meds and an ointment... Which was another 1500ksh.

..Oh yeah, and the cab was 800ksh, two ways.

 

...And imagine, the thing that took the longest, was to get the meds.
...No hurry in Africa, hakuna matata.

 

Right now it's 25/11/10 8am... And my knee is still red, and swollen and very uncomfortable to walk on. Sigh.

Will just have to take it easy and not walk so much. AS IF! I'm in Kenya!!

BAH!

Good day!

 


Mitumba


The making of the door


The carpenters! :)


The door is in place! :)


He's cutting the piece of metal that was in the roof, to put up above the door.


Putting up the piece of metal


Mitumba kid. Liked to hit people. Including me. Kind of annoying! ;)


My darling girl! <3


Love!


The kids could ride up and down the street in Mitumba for 10 Ksh.


My knee... :/


Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0