KENYA 2010-11-21: Mavuno church and then a magical day at Shangilia

2010-11-21  7:30pm

Heeeeeey!!

What a wonderful magical day!
The day started at 6.30am. I got up, got dressed, ate breakfast and then walked off towards Hilton.
Mary and I was going to meet there at 8am and then take a matatu to Mavuno church for the Sunday morning sermon!

The church was actually a big, no huge(!) tent and there must have been at least 400 seats, and they all eventually filled up!

At first we all (read: they) sang a bunch of songs. It’s just like in my church back home, they have a big screen where you can read along the lyrics.
I however just enjoyed to listen to the others sing. The songs were great!

Later one mzungu, apparently a German guy and a Kenyan girl went up on stage and started talking. And the German guy said that he’s from a small village of about 600 people in Germany, and apparently they just eat bananas during Christmas over there.  Something about them being communists and only wanting to import from other communist countries… In this case Cuba. Or so he said.

Anyway! He took up a banana, and said first to squeeze it, then inhale, then exhale (sitting down), start to peal it open… inhale the smell of the banana, and then eat little by little…

Very interesting. :P

Later they asked if there were any visitors in the crowd, and I raised my hand, along with like 2 others, and everyone started cheering!
Then a lady came up to me and gave me a banana, as a welcome present. Same with the other 2 :)

 

The sermon was pretty long, and he read a little too much straight from the bible for my liking… I like it in my church when they use words from the bible but they give parallels to everyday life… And makes it easier and more fun to listen to.

 

After the sermon we headed back to the city centre, and I went to YMCA to change, update my blog very quickly and upload some pictures… But, since the kids at Shangilia are free all day today I didn’t want to spend more time by the computer, so I took a matatu to Kangemi shortly after.

 

This day at Shangilia has been magical. We haven’t really done anything in particular… They’ve been doing my hair and we’ve been talking a lot. I feel like I’ve really bonded with the girls today. More than I could imagine.
I was very frank with them and told them that if there’s anything they want to talk to me about, don’t even think twice. I love girl talk, and I’m always there for them.

At first I could tell they still thought it was a bit awkward… But then I started telling them about myself and my teenage years…and puberty… And then the questions came flowing… It felt so good that they felt like they could open up with me. And they really enjoyed it too…

I can’t explain in words how much I love these kids. They are my life. They are my children. I want them to have everything in this world. They are magical! My jewels!

I went home at around 6.30pm… I realized there’s not gonna be a jam today since it’s Sunday, so I decided to stay longer.
The kids even wanted me to sleep over. I wish I could do that one night. Maybe next weekend :)

 

I took a detour to Uchumi, cause I wanted something to drink, and I realized that they have a second floor with clothes as well (after spending a lot of time in Kenya, and passing by that place almost every day…) and I found a great  top. It was 1250 Ksh, but I just loved it, so I didn’t think twice.

 

Now I’m sitting on the terrace at YMCA, with a beautiful view of one of the fullest moons I’ve ever seen, and drinking Ketepa tea… Life is good.

 

Tomorrow I’m going to Adam’s arcade again to do some more shopping for the kids!

I also have to plan out for next week’s field trip. I’m taking Grace, Cynthia, Josephine, Anne and Alan to Nairobi animal orphanage on Saturday. But I still don’t know how to arrange with the transport.

Last year it was so much easier, cause we just filled up a matatu and took the girls to YMCA for a swim, and then we called them again when we needed pick-up. Don’t think that’s gonna work very well since we’ll be like 8 at the most (Me, Mary and a teacher).

Oh well, I’ll figure something out during the week.

 

I’m off to my room to watch a movie or two and really relax!

 

NAKUPENDA KENYA!


Mavuno church, and me with the very meaningful banana ;)


Sweet Martin with the cutest gap ever! ;)


My darling kids!


Mbeke is doing Beatrice's hair :)




Comments
Postat av: Jane Wanjiru Muriithi

Dear Brethen, praise the Lord. My family and I need you to stand with us. My dad had a good on thursday but collapsed in a nairobi hotel. On being rashed to the hospital the doctor said it is stroke he is recoverying but we your love and faith us Mavuno church to join us in prayer.He is 61yr a christian and prayed a be role in environmental conservation for over 40 playing a virtal role in my country. Please for him Paster M, S, Linda all church members and Mavuno family. Amen

2011-07-02 @ 05:32:00
Postat av: Jane Wanjiru Muriithi

Dear Brethen, praise the Lord. My family and I need you to stand with us. My dad had a good day on thursday but collapsed in a nairobi hotel. On being rashed to the hospital the doctor said it is stroke he is recoverying but we your love and faith us Mavuno church to join us in prayer.He is 62yr a christian and played a big role in environmental conservation for over 40 playing a virtal role in my country. Please for him Paster M, S, Linda all church members and Mavuno family. Amen

2011-07-02 @ 05:40:30

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0