KENYA 2010-11-17: Uniform shopping and braids!

2010-11-17 9:30pm


I got up at around 7am, and I sat down to update my blog and all for a while cause I wasn’t going to meet Mary until noon.


But then I started walking down town… And I kept walking and walking and walking… Didn’t really have a game plan, but I accidentally stumbled upon River road, and that’s where the uniform centre is! So I went in there and bought a bunch of uniform parts for almost 11 000 ksh.

 

I kept on walking and decided to go to a hair salon to ask their price for getting braids. Of course they wanted to over-charge me, and said 5000 ksh.
So I just kept walking, and eventually met up with Mary!
We decided to go to Shangilia to drop off the uniforms and the stuff I brought from Sweden! So we also went by YMCA, before we took a matatu to Kangemi.

 

We spent some time with the kids… It was pretty calm, cause many of them are at home cause of the break and a few of them were at Emily’s funeral in Mombasa…

 

Later we went back to Nairobi, cause we were going to look for the hair salon I went to last year. It had moved from the place we went last year, but they told us to go to UGANDA house…but when we got there we didn’t find anything, so Mary called a friend who usually gets her hair done at their place, and they were in some other house :P But it wasn’t far at all, so we went there!

 

We negotiated for me to get the braids, with extensions and a pedicure for 3000 ksh. And hell! The pedicure lasted for over 2 hours! Me like!
The people who work in this place (Meena Salon, at the corner house of Mezzanine 2nd floor) are just so sweet! And the owner rocks!! Her hair is amazing (see picture below) :)

 

I really like the hair, I thought it was gonna be longer though and not quite so heavy!! :P
But it’s so much better than last year with the weaves with dreads… (What was I thinking?) haha.
I don’t know if I’m gonna have them when I go  home… cause it’s quite expensive to remove them back home… But I’m not sure yet…!

I do get SO SO SO much attention with them! Haha.
Afterwards (took about 4 hours) I decided to take a cab home. So I asked one of the cab drivers how much e would charge to YMCA. Can’t remember what he said but I got him to come down to 150 ksh, which is totally ok! The cab driver’s name is Simon, and I decided to take his number so I can just call him if I ever need a ride, and I know he’s good with the fare costs!

 

The one thing that was really unfortunate though, was that it was after 8:30pm, only by 8 minutes, but they had locked the place where I keep my laptop, so I couldn’t update… Quite a boring evening. But I just went to bed instead… Was kind of hard to sleep with the big addition to my head too :P


And this is it for today!
Tomorrow I will go to Kibera and South B with Wesley! Exciting!!

Nighty night!


River road area


Uniform centre on River road


Kangemi seen from where I get off the matatu


Me in Kangemi


The clothes from Sweden and the Uniform centre


Pedicure!! :)) Sooo needed that!


Braidin', braidin', braidin'...


Me and the ower of Meena Salon

 

 

 


Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0