2009-04-22: Sleepless in Kenya - Hello Nairobi!

Hey hey,
SO!
Hannah, Dakota and I ended up messing around until like 3.30am!
We had SO much fun!! Aaaand we have videos to show it! :P
We were laughing so hard , and I was grying my eyes out cause of it! My stomaaaaach!

Eventually we did fall asleep and this time I could actually sleep! I guess I was just THAT tired!
At 7am (22/4-09) they ran around in the train with the damn breakfast signal, and Hannah, Bo and I went to breakfast. Dakota, poor thing was exhausted.

Hannah and I ended up next to two other Swedes and Bo sat next to some other family.
It was so nice!
After breakfast Hannah and I went back to our compartment and took out our cameras...
We actually sa quite a few animals on the savannah!

Hehe, even the staff commented that we must have had a lot of fun last night, laughing like that...
Guess the walls aren't sound proof ;)

We saw gazells, giraffes, volchers, zebras, blue wildebeests, kirk's dikdiks, ostrichs and antelopes - AWESOME!
It's like included safari on the train ride! ;) At least on the way TO Nairobi.

Oh! And we drove by this place, in the slums, can't remember what it's called... But the rail road IS the main road (for walking) in this slum area. And stands were not even one meter away from the tracks.  Crazy!
It was so crowded and so incredibly dirty...And the smell wasn't something to brag about either.

We finally arrived in Nairobi at around 9:30am - ON TIME! Imagine that ;)
And we waited for Dakota's and Bo's car to arrive, then they dropped me off at the Y and then they headed out to Karen.
My room wasn't ready right away, so I ended up at the internet café.
I met to Americans there, Austin and Annelise, they were making a movie about the street children in Kenya. They seem really cool.
... And high speed internet MY ASS! :P
Soooooooo sloooooooooooooow.....!

Eventually I went to my room, and changed  and decided to go to Kangemi, by matatu... They were charging so much to go by cab... Like 600 Ksh, compared to the matatu which is 20 Ksh (!)
To go there I can choose matatu number 23 or 30. Number 23 is better though, cause it actually drives in to Kangemi. Number 30 stops on the main road... And not always where you ask them to stop :P

When I got to Kangemi though, I wasn't 100 % sure which way to go, but I just started walking and eventually some kids ran up to me, wanting to hold my hands and when I asked they offered to show me the way.
So sweet! And when I got to Shangilia, I gave them 20 Ksh for the trouble. Boy, were they happy!

It was really calm at Shangilia today since most of the kids are at some camp and some kids are with their relatives.
...I hung out with the younger kids all day and we had so much fun! We played games, sang songs... I absolutely loved it! It felt so so good to be back... And when I first came in through the gate, Gracie ran up to me and gave me a big hug. Nakupenda wewe safi! :)
...And today she said something I will never ever forget... ''Take me home with you''.
I really didn't know what to say... I just hugged her and told her I love her... And she's not leaving my side....
Seriously, I don't know how I'll be able to go home this time...

At around 3.30pm I started walking to the matatu station, which is about 10 minutes by foot from Shangilia.
People in Kangemi are just so so nice! Kids ran up to me wanthing to shake hands and asking ''How are you, how are you'', ''habari'', and some just called out mzungu, mzungu!

One guy, names Kelvin came up to me asking me if we could be friends. So sweet!
He gave me his e-mail and then he followed me to the matatu station.
Along the way I bought some mangos and I also wanted some kangas and Kelvin helped me to haggle.
I got 3 kangas for 200 Ksh a piece and one for 400 ksh (different material).

Then I took the matatu back to Nairobi.
I get on and off at the Uhuru highway roundabout by university way. It's like 5 minutes by foot from the Y. Perfect distance!
When I got back I went to Uchumi to buy some snacks, a knife and plate for the mangos and later I went to an ATM in the anniversary towers.

Back at the Y I wanted to cut up some mangos... YUM, you know...!
Aaand I ended up cutting my damn finger on that damn knife!

After I used up half of my 1st aid kit, I went to the internet café to update my blog and then I went to the restaurant and had a cup of tea and wrote in my journal...

Right now I'm exhausted and I'm heading for bed!
Until next time dear rafikis! :)

Nighty!

Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0