Dreaming of Africa and making Ugali.

Hey everyone,
How's this Saturday treating y'all so far ?

I got up at 4:45am... Started work at 5.57 today. I got to ''sleep in''...!
One trip to Copenhagen and one to Ängelholm today. Joy.

But when I was heading home today I decided to go grocery shopping and try to make ugali with cabbage!
I went to Hemköp and bought savoy cabbage, unions, tomatoes, carrots and minced meat.
The hard part was to find the proper maize meal. They didn't have what I was looking for at Hemköp, so on my way home I stopped by at an Afro-stuff-shop...

Me: Do you have maize meal?
Dude: Yes (pointing to the corner)
...I go over and pick out a bag of maize meal, actually happy that they have it...
Dude: What are you making?
Me: Ugali.
Dude: *Sigh* It's not that kind of maize meal you should use. No, you should use this (and holds up something else... but it was NOT what I was looking for).
Me: Dude, I just got back from Kenya, THIS is what they used to make ugali!
Dude: Oh, ugali! Yes yes, then this is correct...
Me: Asante sana!

Before I went home I dropped by at body art to pick up the drawing for my tattoo... Kind of bummed out that I'm not gonna do it now... But all in good time...! :) It looks awesome tho.

Then I headed home and started making the cabbage mix...
It turned out pretty good... But I asked at Shangilia if they use any special spices, but they said no... Soooo I didn't really use any spices... And it didn't taste much... So Anna and I started experimenting... and eventually it was freakin' good! :P
And the ugali turned out good too! Maybe I used a little too much maize meal... and the fact that I had way too much water! Now we can eat ugali for a few days :P
My African mother would've been proud I think... :)  Hehe. It was nice to eat ugali and cabbage again...
I ate with my hands, but Anna insisted to use a fork... *tsss* :P~

From the look of it, did I pass?


Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0