2009-05-02: Back to Nairobi - Swimming at the YMCA - Karen

Jaaambo!

This morning the alarm went off at 5:45am... Uuuaaaaah! Eaaarly!
We were catching a ride to Kiserian with some friends of Mary's mom. They were going to church this morning.
I was so glad not having to walk that distance again! :P

Then Mary and I took a matatu to Nairobi... We got there pretty early, so we decided to go for breakfast at Java!
Since the matatu dropped us off by the station we went to the smaller Java, close to the station... Can't remember the street... Just note that it's NOT the one at Koinange lane (Very important!)
Cause the service at this Java SUCKED!!!
It took a long time for them to take our orders, took a long time to get us the food and drinks....
And when I asked for the bill? It took 15 minutes before we got the bill, paid and got the change (!!!) Crazy!
And the thing was that it was REALLY early on a Saturday morning and we were like 3 or 4 tables! That's it! It's not like it was rush hour!
Mary even left them a comment before we left! PULL UP YOUR SOCKS! :P

After breakfast I went back to the Y and Mary went home...
I took a shower and got dressed....
Dakota and Bo were supposed to meet me at Hilton to go to the Maasai market but they cancelled...
But I went there anyway to buy gifts for Dakota's mom and Bo's gf. Niiice stuff!
Mary was impressed my my feminine touch! Hahaha! I'm not ALL tom boy! ;)

Then I went to the Y to srop everything off and then headed straight for Shangilia!
Eventually we decided to go to YMCA with the older girls to go swimming!

We all (14 people) went to the matatu station and got our very own matatu that took us all the way to YMCA!
We also exchanged numbers so we could call them when we needed pick up! :) Perfect!

The girls had so much fun! I'm so happy we could make it happen!
...I couldn't go in today tho cause of the damn period....
It was HILARIOUS though! Hahahaha!

The life guard asked me why I'm not swimming...
''Oh, you know... female problems?"
If he was white he would be as red as a tomato! But I could still see how embarressed he was... He gave an uncomfortable smile and walked away.... And I started laughing along with another lady who heard and saw it all!
It was hilarious! :P

Then I went to the restaurant to set up... I had bought cookies, candy and lemonade.
The staff at YMCA were so sweet! They lend me cups and plates free of charge!
But I paid 200 Ksh anyway, cause they were so sweet about it! :)

Then I ordered the matatu to pick the girls.
"Yes yes, we'll be there in 20 minutes!"
...20 African mminutes = 50 real ones! :P

Mary told me some of the things the girls were saying in Swahili... Things like:
"Can you believe you almost missed this fantastic day? Aren't you glad I made you come??"
"Yes! Thank you so much for making me come! This has been so great!"



They are all so sweeeeeeet! I'm gonna miss them all so so so much!
They hugged me and thanked me over and over! :)

The hard part about today was of course the fact that the boys were jealous.... But maybe Jorien will be able to make it happen for the older boys as well... I hope so...!

At 5:40pm Mary and I took a cab to the Maasai Market cause I wanted to buy a birthday present for Dakota.
I found a cool game... I can't remember what it's called but it's really cool! :)
And he started at 3500 Ksh... But well, I'm not gonna say what I got it for... But lets just say it was less than 1000 Ksh! ;)
Mary: "Guuuurl you're giving me a run for my money! You're haggling like a true Kenyan!" ;)
Hahaha, Asante sana, mpenzi ;)

After, we went to Uchumi to buy wrapping paper and have it wrapped....
Only when we were standing in line to get it wrapped we found out that they charged 50 ksh to wrap it!
So we just took some tape and said we'd do it ourselves!
But Mary stopped by at the customer services first to ask WHY they charge to wrap.
And they freaked out! "WHO is charging you?!?"
The guy who was charging had left.... VERY quickly, so we couldn't tell them who it was... But yeah... Some people will try to make money any way they can...  Just think of the bartender at Red Tape! Sick!

Then Mary and I went to Java at Koinange lane :)
We were served by Geoffrey, as always! :) Hehe, he's the man! :)
He knows by now what we want, we didn't even have to say! ;)

 

We shared a pollo quesadilla and I also had a chai latte :)

Afterwards we took a cab to the station and then a matatu to Nakumatt Karen.
Dakota and Bo picked us up and we hung out for a bit... But poor Bo man wasn't feeling too good, so eventually Mary and I took a cab back to the city.

Now I've been packing a bit :(
I don't want to leave....!

Gotta sleep... Getting up early tomorrow to spend my last day at Shangilia!
Nighty night!


Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0