2009-04-30:Shangilia - Upper Hill - Karen Blixen - Another job offer :)

Hey hey!

The morning started at around 7am...
Went down for breakfast and then headed straight for Shangilia at around 8:30am.
NEW! Video from Kangemi!




(The bucket is for washing clothes...FYI) :)

Jorien wasn't able to help me with the hair... I thought to use the dreads end just put in a few... But the hair was too short... Darn it! Maybe I'll just do it when I get back to Sweden ?
But no matter, I had such a great day at Shangilia with the kids! :)
And! Today they served Ugali with cabbage! :) Me liiiikey!

/>

I also had the idea of taking the older girls swimming at YMCA on Saturday! I'm still waiting on the green light from Mr Njenga! :) But I hope I get to do it!

820620.jpg" onclick="showPic('https://cdn1.cdnme.se/cdn/6-1/824916/images/2009/img_0773_37820620.jpg');return false;">

At around 1.30pm I took a matatu to Nairobi and then Will, the nice cab driver from the Y picked me up and drove me over to Upper Hill to meet up with Mary at her job. :)

I got to upload some pics to my USB memory... But Mary, guuuurl! You've been braging about your high speed internet... Muahahahahaaaaa!  Zzzzzzzzz.....! ;)

When Mary got off work she followed me to a matatu station and I went to Karen to meet up with Dakota and Bo.
We had such a great time!  Bo told me about the movie script he's working on... Can't wait to see that one! :)

At around 8pm we drove off to Karen Blixen café to have dinner.
I met a woman named Rachel and she basically offered me a paid internship if I start studying...Like development studies or such... And later on get the opportunity to work with her...
OMFG! Africa sure is asking me to stay :D

She also told me about how she might be able to help the kids at Shangilia by sponsoring them to learn how to grow their own organic food! Healty food for the kids AND teaching them how to grow it! It's perfect!
Whyyy can't I stay longer in Africa!? I would love to make it happen and see it through...!
I'm gonna call Njenga first thing tomorrow though!

Now I'm soooo tired! And I'm getting up at like 6am tomorrow, so I'm gonna go to bed!
Gooooood night! :)

Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0