2009-04-28: No more dreads :( - Ethiopian food at Hebesha.

....Yeah, so this morning I got up at 7-ish am... Ate breakfast and then I headed for the YMCA hair salon to remove my dreads... I was so disappointed! I didn't want to remove them! :(

Not only that... The people at the salon toom advantage of me...
I asked how much she charged to remove the dreads... She said 300 Ksh... Fine!
...But then she asked me if I wanted to wash the hair too, which I wanted, to remove the spray properly...
And this is where I made the mistake of not asking how much extra it would be...
And afterwards she wanted me to pay 800 Ksh(!!!)
...I was told that I should not have paid more than 300 in total.... Bitches!
...And then the lady had the nerve to give me her business card! PAH!  Nooooo thank you!
...Oh! And she put ''hair food'' in my hair! Unless you have afro hair... don't! It's a freakin' grease that will stick in your hair for a long time... and make your hair look dirty as hell... I think it took like 4-5 showers before it all was gone.

Then I went to Kangemi... and I spent the day making bracelets with the girls and talked to Njenga...
He basically offered me a teaching job at Shangilia.... (!!!) Can you imagine!?
It's like a dream come true... My head is spinning!  In a good way! :)

  

In the afternoon Jorien and I walked together to the matatu station... She went home and I went to the city...
Later on I met up with Dakota and we went to Java together.
We were later on joined by Hampus and Toby (Hampus is Hannah's travel mate and Toby is -THE- German guy from the train to Mombasa). Hannah also came eventually.

Then we all went to drop Hannah and Hampus at the matatu station... What's up with those guys always going to Thogoto in rush hour?! :P
We had to wait quite a while before the got in to a matatu!
And talk about knowing how to pick em', huh?... Hannah was robbed in the matatu - again :(

Then Dakota and I walked back to the Y and waited for Bo to pick us up... We were going to a place called Hebesha to eat Ethiopian food! And it was awesome!!! :)
Spiiiiiiicy! But I loved it! And I love eating with my hands! Haha Who needs knife and fork?



After Hebesha we made a pit stop at Casablanca and that place sure was incredible! Sooooo cozy!!
We had a cup of tea and relaxed for a bit...
Then they dropped me off at the Y and I went to sleep like right away....!
Not without updating my journal of course ;)

Mwuaaaaah!

Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0