2009-04-24: Dreads, dreads and more dreads!

Hello there,
Okay, so this morning I got up at around 6:30 am!
The cab picked me up at 7:15 to take me to the hair dresser's.'
And 2 hours? Paaah!
I was done at around 11:30 (!)
I paid a total of 5550 Ksh, cause I ended up getting a pedicure while getting dreads!
But it looks soooooo cool! Don't ya think?


I now have the biggest 'fro a mzungu can have! :P
People were looking at me before... But now? This is ridiculous! Hahaha!
Oh! And since the dreads are sooooo incredibly tight... It was like getting a free face lift at the same time!
And whoooosh, the hair is heavy! :P Or so it felt like when I first got up! Hehe.
NEW!!! Put together a video from when I got dreads! 


Right after I was supposed to go to the Y to pay for my room but this guy commented on my hair and wanted me to chech out the Maasai market work shop... And I left the place with a scarf, earrings and some yarn for the kids!
....Oh! And a dinner proposal from the guy who ran the place... Noooooo thank you!

I also met an Australian  guy at the work shop. His name is David and he had just arrived to Nairobi and didn't have a game plan for the day so he tagged along to Shangilia!

First I had to go to the Y to pay for my room... And they told me that apparently someone was robbed yesterday... someone stole their laptop from their room(!) so they wanted everyone to check their valuables in the reception.
Aaaand then we were off to Kangemi!

They had an Anti-Corruption campaign there today, and it was soooo crowded!
...We got to Shangilia when the kids were having lunch so I also got some githeri (mix of corn and beans) and right after we started making bracelets! I taught the kids how to make them! :) And maaaan was it popular! Especially among the girls! They learned so fast! Totally awesome!!
I'll be sure to buy more yarn! I've already been requested to buy many other colors! :P
It felt really nice to teach them something!
We had such a good time together today! And the kids loved my hair! :D
I made a bracelet with Gladys... She is such a sweet girl! 12 years old and sooo beautiful!
Beautiful gladys!

Oh! And I saw Peter today! Maaaanm has he grown! He's 17 now!!!
...I went back to Nairobi at around 4.30pm today... And maaaan people are looking at me! Haha, I'd better get used to it! ;)

Then I went to Java house, Koinange lane, to meet up with Ali (the drummer guy from last night at Sherlock's den) and Mary.
Apparently he didn't speak English fluently... just French and Kiswahili...Soooo he was pretty quiet at times... And Mary and I had so much fun pointing that out to eachother just with eye contact... Haha. Smooth with the cell phone tho' Mary! ;)

Brandon, the guy I sat next to on the plane to Nairobi also joined later on, about the same time as Ail had to split, he had a gig somewhere in Westlands.
Brandon had to go back to the States, so he just joined in to have some food before he had to leave.

When it comes to partying in Nairobi... daaaaaamn! People here like to party I'll tell ya!
And that's what we'll do tomorrow!! Yaaaaa aaay!

Then Mary and I went back to the Y and hung out for a bit... She left about 30 minutes ago...
And I've been doing laundry (= washing clothes in the bathroom sink with Shampoo). Good times! ;)
...They charge you by number of items here at the Y if you want them to do laundry for you!
....Naah! this works for me! Smells good with the shampoo too! Hahah!
Never feel very clean over here anyway! At least not after a day at Shangilia! :)

Well, I'm off to bed now... Another early day tomorrow!
Nighty night!


Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0