2009-04-23: Shangilia mtoto wa Afrika

Hello hello hello!
Okay!
So, this morning I got up at like 6:30am and went down stairs for a lovely breakfast with toast and zesta red plum jam and eggs... And tea and mandazis.
Then I went back up to my room and got ready for the day. I brought about 3000 Ksh to shop for Shangilia today.

And as I was about to leave I saw one of the forever-smiling-mega-Christian people I met on the train TO Mombasa!
They were also on the train yesterday, apparently, and now they were here! Leaving later this evening though.

Anyway! I went to Uchumi and bought face towels, combs and hairbands for the kids.
Then I went back to Uhuru Highway and got on a Matatu to Kangemi. I love riding matatus!!

When I got there I went up to one of the guys selling slippers and bought 13 pairs and also a big plastic bucket. And then I headed for Shangilia.
....And, actually, 8 pairs were too small... So I went back to the man with Tabitha to exchange the shoes.
I paid 1000 Ksh for all the shoes, but he told Tabitha he sold them to me for 100 Ksh per pair... Insisted on it even!
They were discussing in Kiswahili, and eventually we got to change all the smaller sizes to bigger ones and then we went back.
Josephine and Grace came with us too!

Then I hung out all day and played with the kids... I also helped out with all the clothes I had brought, to sort them out...
Then I went to the kitchen to help peel potatoes, wash them and later washing corn and beans as well.
Tomorrow they were going to make githeri.

Around noon Dakota also dropped by!
I had dinner with the kids today. They had ugali and cabbage and I just looooved it!!
...Today Josephine and Gracie told me that they wanted to call me mother... They're really aiming for my heart...
AMAZING girls!!! :) Love them so much!

Around 3pm Dakota and I headed back to Nairobi...
When we got to the matatu stop in Kangemi we made the mistake of getting in to one that wasn't full...
They guy said they're leaving N-O-W! And bone head bone head believed him :P
... I did make sure 3 times though, so we got in, but it took like 5-10 minutes before we actually drove off!

We met up with Hannah at the Uni. roundabout and we all started walkin'.
Eventually we ended up at Java House and I had another lovely Malindi chai latte and a fruit sallad with yoghurt and honey. Yuuuuumm!

Then we kept on walking, headed for the maasai market, but as we asked our way to the marked someone told us that it's only open on Saturdays... So guess what?
We're going to the Maasai Market on Saturday! ;)

Then we met up with Mary on the way to the bus station cause Hannah and Dakota had to split.
...Of course around rush hour... and finding a matatu wasn't the easiest.. But it all worked out ok!

Then Mary and I chilled and walked around in Nairobi...
We stopped by a store that had some awesome necklaces and stuff. They had actually already closed but when they saw me looking though the window they opened the doors and let us in :)
And I ended up buying a necklace for 650 Ksh and I love it!

Then we went to a hairdresser and asked about dreads! And I'm booked for tomorrow! :)
It will be about 5000 Ksh (hair included!) and it'll last for about 3 months! I hope I'll fit in it!

And guess what!?!?
I saw Eddie tonight! Hahah! Earlier today I had told Hannah and Dakota about him, and then I ran in to him this evening! Crazy! It was good to see him again!

Then we ended up at Nakumatt Lifestyle and I bought some postcards. (This is an open-24 hours building really close to YMCA and close to Java House at Koinange lane).
Since it's a mall we looked up a book shop, cause I wanted a Kiswahili dictionary... But I ended up asking the guys to hold a copy of Swahili for beginners audio book! It's about 3000 Ksh, and I'll just go back some day before I go home to buy it! :)

Right next to the book shop was a bar called Sherlock's den and they were having live performances tonight, so Mary and I sat down to watch.

The drummer wanted to talk to us, be friends and all that.... He seemed pretty cool.. One hell of an African drums-drummer tho! :P

At around 8.30pm I went back to YMCA... And on the way I asked Mary if she still had the easter egg:
"Oh heeeeeeell NO! It was gone in like 2 days! It was soooooo amazing!"
Haha, Swedish candy is the shiiiiit! ;)

Now I'm ready for bed... Exhausted, again! :P
Nighty night!

Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0