2009-04-21: Shopping, Colobus trust and train ride back to Nairobi!

Jambo sana!
Habari yako?

This  morning I got up at around 7.30am...
Bo had prepared a wonderful fruit sallad, again, with mangos, pineapple and banana - perfect ripe!
What will I do when I go back to Sweden?
When I won't be able to go to a fruit stand and buy really ripe fruit  for like... no money! :P

Anyway.. At around 8.30 Eric picked us up and took us to Ukunda village, which was a disappointment really...!
I wanted like a market that I could walk around for a bit... But this was just a stand... But I did buy two kangas.
Then we went to a hand crafts village and got to see how they make the sculptures in wood...Amazing! They're just so talented!

After that we went to a few other places and I could buy some presents to the people back home...

Later we went to Colobus trust, and got a little tour there...
It's basically a rehab centre for monkeys that have been kept as pets... to get them used to the wild again, and prepare them for it... Very interesting, and we got to see a bunch of monkeys! :)

Oh! And I met 2 Swedish people there! From Lund! :P So cool! Hopefully we'll meet up  when we're all back in Sweden! :)

After Colobus we went back to the house to pick up all the stuff and get ready to go to Mombasa..
But first we stopped by at a restaurant called Nomad's, which was really nice!
Also right on the beach! And during dinner we had a bunch of beach boys performing acrobatics for us...They were pretty good!

I ordered some amazing samosas... They sure are an addiction... They were delicious!!
...And then we headed for Mombasa!
We checked in for first class, and this is also where we got the amazing refund from our trip to Mombasa... 200 KSh! Wooooow! That really helped with the cab ride that cost like 8000Ksh!

Well! Diana met us at the booking area and I finally got to give her the easter egg! Which she later on called me about and let me know she's hooked on Swedish candy! :P
I'm so glad she stopped by! And I can't wait to go back to Mombasa to see her again, and actually go to Nyali! :)

Then we went to find our coach (1215) compartment C & D, and dropped off our luggage and then we went to the station ''pub'' to relax a bit before departure.

I was really hoping for Hannah to show up!
See, my phone died, probably from the humidity... and I had to buy a new one here in Mombasa... But all my numbers were lost cause I couldn't switch it back on.... So I didn't know when or if she was coming!

BUT! About 20 minutes before departure - there she was!
She was in 2nd class though, but we bumped her up to first class with us!

Shortly after departure we went to the restaurant coach to have supper. We had such a good time!
Hannah and I probably annoyed the crap out of everyone, insisting on singing Swedish songs from Disney movies! :P Hilarious!

NEW! Things to do when you're bored on the train between Mombasa-Nairobi! Video style! ;)










We're gonna have SUCH a good time together in Nairobi!

After dinner we hung out in the dining coach until they actually asked us to leave,so that they could clean up.

Dakota and Bo are in compartment D and Hannah and I in compartmend C... Hannah's actually on the top bunk writing her travel journal...
Sooo this is it for now! Take care out there!

Kwaheri!

Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0