2009-04-20: Fort Jesus and Old town in Mombasa

This morning we got up at like 8.30am.
Eric picked us up at around 9.30 and we went to Mombasa.

He took us to Fort Jesus and the Old town. We got our own tour guide, which was really nice. I think that was only 500 K Sh extra! (50 Sek).
And it sure was amazing! The architecture and the history... Wow! I really recommend visiting Fort Jesus and the old town!

Later on, after some shopping in Old town we went to a restaurant where Dakota ordered some Ethiopian food, and it was gooooooood! Spicy - but so gooood!
...Me, I had a bounty chocolate shake...Which also was delicious! ;)

After that we went on the ferry to go back to Diani... and we got to see a US Air craft carrier! So cool!
...Some sad history about the ferry....
In the late 80's or early 90's one of the ferries had too much weight... They had said they couldn't take any more passangers... But people didn't listen, and the ferry sunk...
About 200 people died cause many didn't know how to swim, and the ones who did know, drowned anyway cause people wanted to use them as floating devices...
...Creepy!

Anyway, we were supposed to go to Ukunda village, but it was already pretty late so we decided to go to a snake and croc farm instead!
We paid 300 KSh and we got to hold snakes, turtles and lizards! It was awesome!

Then we went to the house to get my USB memory card and cords for the cameras and then we went back to Forty Thieves and I could save some of the pics on my memory card.
And maaaaaan it took forever!!!
T.I.A people... T.I.A!  (F.Y.I: This is Africa)
...And it was damn expensive!! 8Ksh per minute!!

Well, I'm whiped out, so I'm going to bed!
Taking the train back to Nairobi tomorrow!

Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0