2009-04-19: Dolphin watch and snorkling in the Indian ocean

Dakota and I got up at like 6.15am... The cab was picking us up at 7 sharp.
Bo had made such an amazing fruit sallad for breakfast, with mangos and banana - YUMM!

At 7 the cab picked us up and drove us to the place where a matatu was going to pick us up.
Diana and her boyfriend Sam were already on the bus. The got on in Nyali.
Then it took about 1 hour to the place where we were getting on the boat.

We were supposed to go with Dolphin Dhow, but they didn't have enough people in the group to go, so we ended up going with Pilli pippa instead. It's a whole day deal and it cost 130 USD.

On the way to the boat we drove through a bunch of villages and it was really cool!
At the dock we had to take a small boat out to a bigger one...

The big boat (or dhow) was driving sooooooooo sloooooooooow.....!!! So it took about 2 hours to get to the place where we were going to snorkle. But it was nice... Not judging from the weather though, which was cloudy and rainy on and off...

This trip wasn't what I's thought it would be... Since I wanted to swim with dolphins.... But apparently they don't do that anymore...
We basically just went snorkling... and one of the first things they told us was that we shouldn't expect to see any dolphins, cause they hadn't seen any in quite a while...

We went snorkling in two places and then we had dinner at an island in an AMAZING house!
BUT! Snorkling was just sooo sooo amazing! Wow wow wow and WOW!!!
The water was even warmer than the air temp!

I just snorkled once though... Didn't feel like going in again after swollowing a bunch of salt water... and DAMN it was salty!

But as we waited for the others to finish snorkling we saw dolphins!!! It was soooo amazing! Sure I wish I could swim with them, but just looking at them was also amazing!
I think there were 2 posses with like 5 dolphins in each!  Heeeey Flipper!

Then we went to the island to have dinner, and like I mentioned, it was so amazing!
First we got Zimbabwi soup and chapati for starters... I LOVE Chapati!!! Maaan I have missed it!
Then a bunch of other Kenyan food and it was all sooo delicious! Unfortunately I was already full from Chapati and soup, so I didn't eat much...!

Then Sam and I played a board game... Can't remember what it's called...
And then we all went back....!

When we came to the house the power was gone, and it didn't come back until like 9:30-10pm!
But Dakota and I went to sleep at like 8-8:30... We were so exhausted!
Besides... We didn't have any candles or any lights what so ever, so there wasn't really too much to do around the house! :P

But it was SUCH a nice day!

Comments

Comment:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (Will not be published)

URL/Blog address:

Comment:

Trackback
RSS 2.0